Contributing to Open-Source: My HacktoberFest Experience

Contributing to Open-Source: My HacktoberFest Experience

What is Hacktoberfest?

image.png

Image Source

Hacktoberfest is a month-long celebration of open source contributions from October 1st to October 31st. Released by DigitalOcean in collaboration with GitHub. In October, you were invited to contribute and make pull requests to your favorite GitHub repositories.

Why you should register for Hacktoberfest?

You can learn a lot while solving problems. During Hacktoberfest, many communities hold events to contribute to open source and discuss how to get started.

My Low or non-code contributions

I was really excited about Hacktoberfest this year because it was my first year participating. Hacktoberfest 2022 gives me the opportunity to make some quality pull requests. Now, this doesn't mean you should only contribute during Hacktoberfest, you should contribute whenever you have the opportunity to do so.

First PR

image.png

  • I started by working on an issue labeled Hacktoberfest and good first issue. I have asked the maintainer to assign this issue to me to work on this issue.

image.png

  • Post assigning the issue, I created a Fork and added two new questions in the required repository.

  • Created a Pull request and also added the comments in the PR with the detailed information.

image.png

  • In Issue, I have notified the maintainer that the issue has been worked on and it is completed by mentioning the PR number as well.

image.png

  • The maintainer has verified the PR request and my first PR has been successfully merged into the repository. The Hacktoberfest-accepted label has also been added to my PR as well.

image.png

Hacktoberfest has taken7 days to verify this PR and after that, I have awarded a Holopin Badge for completing the first PR/MR.

image.png

Second PR

image.png

  • I started by working on an issue labeled Hacktoberfest and a good first issue. I have asked the maintainer to assign this issue to me to work on this issue.

image.png

  • Post assigning the issue, I created a Fork and added a GitHub Issue template in the required repository.

  • Created a Pull request and also added the comments in the PR with the detailed information.

image.png

  • In Issue, I have notified the maintainer that the issue has been worked on and it is completed by mentioning the PR number as well.

image.png

  • The maintainer has verified the PR request and my second PR has been successfully merged into the repository.

image.png

Hacktoberfest has taken 7 days to verify this PR and after that, I have awarded a second Holopin Badge for completing the second PR/MR.

image.png

The same process has been followed for the third and fourth PR with the different open-source repositories. It got successfully verified by Hacktoberfest and also awarded with third and fourth Holopin Badges.

image.png

I haven't stopped with four PRs and started contributing to the other open-source repositories as well.

Hacktoberfest 2022 isn't over yet, you have until October 31st. If you can't complete 4 PRs by then, don't worry, you'll start helping open source by making quality contributions.

You can check out my article about Why is everyone building on GitHub? to know more about the GitHub features and also how to get started with GitHub.

Gratitude for perusing my article till the end. I hope you realized something unique today. If you enjoyed this article then please share it with your buddies and if you have suggestions or thoughts to share with me then please write in the comment box.

Follow me and share your thoughts, GitHub LinkedIn Twitter

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Makendran Gunasekaran by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!